Review: BLOWN AWAY by Brenda Rothert

BA_Blog
BLOWN AWAY
by Brenda Rothert

 

Grab your copy now!
Amazon:  http://amzn.to/1SXRwRY
iBooks: http://apple.co/1qJbPvU
Kobo:  http://bit.ly/22ZkxSW

GooglePlay:  http://bit.ly/1VvSCen
B&N:  http://bit.ly/1VMgXgt

Blown Away_Rothert.jpg

 

excerpt

In a sensual, emotionally charged novel of love and loss, a tender affair gives two daring storm chasers the strength to overcome shattered dreams and the courage to build a future together.

Drew McGovern is living for two. Her fiancé, Colby, used to savor the feeling of a powerful gale, the rain pelting his face as the sky grew dark—until a shocking tragedy struck him down. Drew’s still grieving his death a year later when she bumps into some of his old storm chasing buddies. For reasons she can’t explain, she volunteers for the next tornado. But when she reconnects with Colby’s best friend, Aiden O’Neal, Drew gets a breath of fresh air that stirs the ashes of her broken heart.

Aiden doesn’t trust himself around Drew. He’s wanted this girl for a long time—long enough to remember the stab of jealousy he felt the first time he saw her in Colby’s arms, long enough to remember the tears that fell as they buried the man they each still miss. Now he’s trying his best to behave himself. But when the wind ruffles Drew’s hair and puts a sparkle in her eye, Aiden can’t resist the urge to hold her close. And when it comes to true love, he’s holding out hope that lightning strikes twice.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

 

addgd

Book Review label

You’re still getting to know me, so I am going to tell you something else I love reading about: Storm Chasers! Regarding the movies, Twister is still the number one for me, although I do enjoy watching others out there about the topic, none have come close. Now, back to books, I think Blown Away is the fourth book I’ve read were one or both the main characters are storm chasers and I have loved every single one of them. If you have recommendations for me, sent them my way 😉

liked

The storm chasing, though it wasn’t exactly the main focus of the story, it was still there and was actually what draw me to the book on the first place. Since the main female character isn’t an experienced chaser, we don’t get too many confusing terms and when there is talk about the storms, its explain to her, ergo us.

The blurb gives you a glimpse of what’s going to happen so this is not really a spoiler, I liked very much how she handled herself after the events that happen at the beginning, and I don’t mean right away, I mean when time passed. Another thing I loved about the heroine is that she decided to do something for herself and that is such an important message, I believe it’s good to do things for others but it’s also important not to forget about ourselves.

We have a group of very different but also very interesting secondary characters and they add to the story nicely.

Of course, I liked the main couple, and as with any story, they have their ups and downs. I enjoy when the main characters form a friendship before things go into the next level, and that is something we see here too.

disliked

 

 

 

*add crickets sound*
Well, I can’t remember something I didn’t like. The main male character was pretty stubborn at time, but things resolve nicely and I didn’t find it overdone. Maybe I would have like to see more of their relationships with other people more, like for example her with her family.

overall

 

 

 

I found myself reading this book really fast because I wanted to see more of the storms and get to know the characters better, but also see how their friendships grew. By the time I realized it was ending I had bittersweet moments, wanting to keep going and not, and that is always a good sign for me when reading a book. Although it covers a small period of time, it’s well paced and their relationship develops nicely enough that you don’t really think about how much time has passed. I recommend this book even if you don’t think you are into the actions of the book, you might end up surprise with it.

1 darling1 darling1 darling1 darling1 darling

BA_banner1

 

authorbio

BRheadshot.jpg

Brenda Rothert is an Illinois native who was a print journalist for nine years. She made the jump from fact to fiction in 2013 and never looked back. From new adult to steamy contemporary romance, Brenda creates fresh characters in every story she tells. She’s a lover of Diet Coke, chocolate, lazy weekends and happily ever afters.

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/BrendaRothert
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1TyGXds

Newsletter: http://brendarothert.com/subscribe/

 

Hosted by Inkslinger PR

Leave a Reply

