Review: LOVE, CHLOE by Alessandra Torre

BookReview New

 

Did you know the story started as part of a Cosmopolitan serial? I did. I read some of the episodes, or chapters, and I have to admit that, at the beginning, the idea of the book made me as excited as it did nervous, because even thought the story on the site was entertaining, it wasn’t on a book-like structure and sometimes felt like it was missing something. I am happy to say the author delivered!

 

synops

Chloe Madison. That’s me. A former NYU princess who fell from grace, right off my pampered Manhattan throne and onto the unforgiving steps of Nicole Brantley, socialite and queen bitch. Now, I walked her dog and mixed her smoothies. Tried to navigate my own problems while fixing all of hers.

I wanted what every New York girl did. A career, an apartment, and true love, preferably in a smoking hot package.

It turned out … I’d have to fight for all of it.

addgd

liked

The characters: Although most of them were secondary, they added to the story with their different personalities and quirks.
The journey: I can’t say much without giving away stuff to those who have no read, but from the first chapter Chloe embarks on a journey through which we see her struggle but also evolve.
The C men: read it and you would know what I’m talking about and if you already did, you know what I mean ;)The beginning of the chapters: Most chapters began with the title and below them an picture from Chloe’s instagram, caption and all. It was so great to have a little more on this book, I’m a visual person and loved this concept.

disliked

I can’t think of a thing I truly disliked. There were some details here and there, like when it jumped in time or from one scene to the other where not everything was specified, but at the end of the chapter everything was clear. There were also some chapters that felt more like fillers than ones to move the story along, but again, there was a point for them to be there.

overall

I loved the book. I think what I liked the most was that even though it has romance in it, it was different from what I’ve read lately. It was definitely a journey, her journey, and I ended up happy I got on the train with her.

LC teaser - life bitch.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

