Book Review: Ruin & Rule by Pepper Winters

BookReivew_RuinI have to admit this was my first Pepper Winters books, and I honestly don’t know what took me so long to jump into one. I did really enjoy this book from start finish even if it took me longer than expected.

RUIN & RULE Synopsis:

51a0SqbOmoL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_“We met in a nightmare. The in-between world where time had no power over reason. We fell in love. We fell hard. But then we woke up. And it was over . . .”

She is a woman divided. Her past, present, and future are as twisted as the lies she’s lived for the past eight years. Desperate to get the truth, she must turn to the one man who may also be her greatest enemy . . .

He is the president of Pure Corruption MC. A heartless biker and retribution-deliverer. He accepts no rules, obeys no one, and lives only to reap revenge on those who wronged him. And now he has stolen her, body and soul.

Can a woman plagued by mystery fall in love with the man who refuses to face the truth? And can a man drenched in darkness forgo his quest for vengeance-and finally find redemption?

amazon

liked

this book was a mind fuck and i loved every minute. grit. betrayal. violence. love. lust. pride. angst. hatred, the list goes on and on … I loved the grit of this book from the start, and it’s jarring beginning. From page one you’re thrown into a scene stumbling through it with the lead Kill, President of the Pure Corruption MC, and a beautiful young woman, who comes into his possession when his crew dabbles in the sex slavery trade –which totally threw me by the way. I didn’t expect that, and although my heart clenched in fear or discomfort, I was engrossed. This book isn’t shy of violence and sometimes I was unsure of the two leads connection, but their spark is undeniable and carried this book forward. I wanted to know who they were to each other while rooting through the ruthlessness that they’re meant to be. The sex was got and Kill can boss me around anytime.

disliked

It generally felt really long. When I started this book I was ripping through it, but when I got about halfway through I found myself not in such a rush. I’m not sure if it’s because we find out the heroines identity, and the connection between the two leads and my interest was harder to keep. This specific storyline felt like it was what I (the reader) was working for the entire book, so when I got my answer, I felt conflicted with what else I wanted to actually find out. Not that I wasn’t going to read on, but it just felt like that’s what this book was about. The story goes further and expands, and takes you to the edge, leaving you fiending for more (I don’t mind cliffhangers. Yes, there’s a major cliffhanger). I just ended up reading the second half of this book a little slower than the second half .

overall

I did love this book. I suffered a beautifully frustrating book hangover when finished. The suspense and mystery felt refreshing to read among the romance and MC genres. I liked that I wasn’t getting an average story and that it had me on the edge of my seat, sometimes flinching from the violence, panting over the hotness, and antsy to get my answers. I’m eager to get my hands on the sequel because I need to know more. Also, I look forward to delving into more books by Pepper Winters. I give this book “4 Darlings “ (4 stars)

mood_Ruin^ [click above to listen to song] ^

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

RUIN_quote

Leave a Reply

